Congratulations to the NTU SPMS Class of 2019

Published on: 14-Aug-2019


The convocation ceremonies for the School of Physical and Mathematical Sciences (SPMS) were held on 30 July 2019 at Nanyang Auditorium in Nanyang Technological University, Singapore. The ceremonies were presided over by two of of NTU's Pro-Chancellors, Mr Othman Haron Eusofe and Mr S. Chandra Das. In total, 106 post-graduates and 548 graduates marked the completion of their studies at SPMS.

Invited speaker Dr Allan Lim, a Group Manager at the Nestle R&D Centre, congratulated the SPMS graduates and offered practical advice on how to convert their academic skills and knowledge into real-world success. His speech included many interesting anecdotes drawn from his years of experience in the food industry.

This year's SPMS valedictorian was Mr Daniel Neo Chong Sern, who majored in Chemistry and Biological Chemistry. In his speech, he urged his fellow graduates to remember their ties of friendship, as well as the importance of their loved ones who had supported them over the years.

Several SPMS graduates were also presented with awards in recognition of their achievements, such as the Lee Kuan Yew Gold Medal, awarded to graduates with the best academic performance in their field of study.

"It feels like my life has just begun and I'm looking forward to what the future has in store for me," said Ms Seah Xin Yu, who won the Lee Kuan Yew Gold Medal for Chemistry and Biological Chemistry as well as the Koh Boon Hwee Scholars Award. "I would like to thank my advisor, Dr Alessandra Bonanni, for her belief in me."


List of SPMS Award Winners


Lee Kuan Yew Gold Medal Award

    • Seah Xin Yun

    • Jin Ye

    • Kenneth Ooi Wen Rui

    • Kon Wen Yu

Koh Boon Hwee Scholars Award

    • Seah Xin Yun

    • Goh Yu Hui

Singapore Mathematical Society Gold Medal cum Book Prize

    • Xiao Fengtong

Shell Eastern Petroleum Gold Medal cum Cash Award

    • Mr Kon Wen Yu

    • Fiona Hanindita

SNIC – Prof Koh Lip Lin Gold Medal

    • Sanami Tatekura

Dr. and Mrs Alex Tan Pang Kee

    • Chia Xin Yi


See the full list of graduates from Bachelor of Science in Mathematics & Economics and Bachelor of Science in Mathematical Sciences here.

See the full list of graduates from Bachelor of Science in Chemistry & Biological Chemistry, Bachelor of Science in Applied Physics and Bachelor of Science in Physics here.

See the full list of Msc and PhD graduates here.


SPMS Class of 2019

654 graduates

548 graduates receiving Bachelor's Degree

42 graduates receiving Master's degrees

64 graduates receiving Doctorate degrees 


Seah Xin Yun, winner of the Lee Kuan Yew Gold Medal and the Koh Boon Hwee Scholars Award photographed here with her proud parents.




Daniel Neo Chong Sern, Valedictorian for SPMS, emphasized on showing gratitude to those who have been supportive to him throughout this journey.


Back to listing